//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The people who make the music we call Jazz…(2)

In 1984, I was sent by a Calcutta newspaper to cover the Jazz Yatra in Mumbai – it was at the Brabourne Stadium I think. Which meant that someone was paying for my train tickets, and paying me for my writing! Entry to the Yatra was free since I had a tag saying ‘Media’ round my neck.

In this and later edition of the Jazz Yatra, I heard many bands that I’d just read about – catching them live was a seriously fun trip. Henry Threadgill’s Sextett was one such, starting with the name itself – this was a seven-member band, but with two drummers, hence ‘sextett’. Why the 2 ‘t’s at the end I don’t know. Here’s Threadgill (with Craig Harris behind him), and the masterful bass player Fred Hopkins.

Henry Threadgill 1Fred Hopkins 1

Another band which I enjoyed very much was Oregon. Colin Walcott was dead (sadly killed in a road accident in what was then East Germany) and had been replaced by Trilok Gurtu, Colin’s own choice for his replacement should it become necessary. I could not retrieve pictures of Trilok; these ones of Ralph Towner, Glen Moore and Paul McCandless.

Vienna Art Orchestra was an extraordinary band – over time I’ve collected about a dozen of their albums, and each time I hear them I’m surprised to discover new things, and new ways it approaches the music. Most of the pictures that I took of the band did not survive, but these two, of singer Lauren Newton and the founder and director Mathias Rüegg, did.

In the next couple of posts, I should be able to share pics of some titans – Don Cherry, Stephane Grapelli, and Max Roach.

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers