//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Once upon a time…(8)

Thanks to my friends who happen to tolerate my fascination for old pics of our cities and our famous landmarks, I’ve been able to get pics of Madras Central Station from the 1870s till the 1980s.

I must confess that these are not mine, and I don’t even know whether they belong to my friends who have so kindly sent them along to me. Quite a few show up on the Net, as a quick and casual Google Image search showed – but I still haven’t been able to track down the owner/s. In case I have unknowingly violated somebody’s copyright, please do write to me, and I will remove them.

The set of pics are quite fascinating – over a little more than a century, it’s really wonderful to see how this famous landmark has evolved, while still remaining essentially the same. The exterior of the building still has the gracious majesty of the earlier days, and now she rests amidst the traffic of the late 20th century, like a haven for the traveler eager to catch his or her train.

The first pic has a legend in Gujarati – perhaps some of my friends in Ahmedabad could help in tracking down the source of this lithograph – this is the grand old lady from the 1870s.

Madras Central Station 1870s

Over the next half-century, her surroundings changed a lot – pedestrians and bullock carts have given way to cars and cycles. The clear view of the sky is now criss-crossed with electricity and telegraph wires. (Incidentally, the pic on the left is from 1905 or thereabouts, and the one on the right is from 1925 or so. )

The next three pictures are from 1943 (the one at the top), 1963 and the 1980s (in colour).

Madras Central Station 1943Madras Central Station 1963Madras Central Station 1980s

The cart, the tram and the guide cables for the trams have given way to cars, and the lady has now donned a very becoming livery of silver and deep red.

It’s nice to see the lady so completely unruffled by the hustle bustle of the century odd that she’s been a silent witness to. And she hasn’t aged a bit – she always was and remains a beauty.

 

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers