//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Monkey Business

A couple of weeks ago, I was sipping my early evening tea sitting in my guest house apartment in the outskirts of Ahmedabad. The evening sun promised to turn the sky into that peculiar shade between yellow and orange that reminds us of the first whisky of the evening, when I glanced outside. William Cowper’s lines flashed through my mind:

“I am monarch of all I survey;
My right there is none to dispute;
From the centre all round to the sea
I am lord of the fowl and the brute.”

Lord of all I survey

The alpha male of the local tribe of hanumans was keeping an eye on his charges and was ready to jump to defend them from the tribe of humans who would dare to threaten their peaceful existence.

A few days ago, in Shimla this time,  I stayed in a charming little heritage hotel on the Mall. This hotel had only two drawbacks – a troop of rhesus macaques ran about and played on its wooden roof throughout the time when good men and women had their afternoon nap; another branch of the same family parked themselves near the neighbourhood fruit-sellers and terrorised the  innocent humans into disgorging their purchases of apricots, mangoes, and cherries.

However, not all the members of the macaque tribe were so raucous and felonious in nature. I found a macaque wife looking after her husband with such care and attention that I had to point it out to my wife as something she could perhaps emulate. My wife was NOT amused.

DSCN0023

We took a trip to the Jakhoo Temple to Hanuman near Shimla. All tourists were told to leave behind with security guards their bags, specs and other things which could not be kept securely in their pockets. Apparently, the local monkeys believed it to be their bounden duty to extract tribute from us humans in the form of eatables.

We did find a few examples of bribery and extortion – a monkey had run off with one of a pair of sneakers; the owner had to buy a bagful of peanuts and leave it for the monkey before he got his shoe back.

The monkeys had solved the problem of thirst quite easily – this time, through emulating their human cousins, some of whom were interested spectators.

IMG_20170510_125705294_HDR

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

