//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

More step-wells in Gujarat

Most of my friends are convinced that I’ve got obsessed with step-wells (‘vav’ in Gujarati, ‘baoli’ in Hindi). I really find these fascinating, and I’ve tried to share my fascination and sense of wonder in my earlier posts featuring some of the most beautiful creations I’ve come across in this area of construction. Naturally, the bigger more famous ones tend to hog the limelight – but, there are many smaller ones, that are lesser known, which are well worth a dekko.

For example, in Patan, there is a small vav called Trikam Barot ni vav, dwarfed in size and share of mind by the magnificent Rani ni vav. Trikam Barot’s vav is small, unkempt, and almost totally neglected by the looks of it.

Tucked away modestly behind a bunch of new homes, this is easy to miss, unless you actually know about it, and the locals that you ask also know about it. My friend who accompanied me is a Patan resident, and he was quite ashamed of the neglect of this site, and promised to get the city fathers to do some clean up, at least to get the plastic bags and chocolate wrappers removed.

Somewhat better off is the Dada Harir ni vav in Asarva, Ahmedabad. I found the people in the area were better informed, and quite a few of the local auto drivers had heard of this and knew how to get there. This is in much better condition, and it was heartening that many school and college kids are donating their weekends and other spare time to clean this up and bring it up into something approaching pristine condition. A monument going back to 1,485 CE deserves no less.

Tucked away in what is now a somewhat unimportant industrial area, with a couple of old mills in the environment, it has quite a homely feeling about it, in spite of its majesty.

When I visited the vav, there was only one other visitor – we had the whole place to ourselves to explore.

Highly recommended to anyone visiting Ahmedabad with a couple of days to spare – may be you’ll be bitten by the step-well bug too.

 

 

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

