//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Queen of Step-wells at Patan

During my trips to Adalaj and the step wells in Ahmedabad, I’d become fascinated with these marvelous creations. A few short hours from Ahmedabad, in the city of Patan, lies the Queen of them all. Called Rani ki Vav, this is possibly the most famous, and certainly the most beautiful of all the step wells that I’ve seen. Wikipedia has this to say about this magnificent structure: “Rani ki vav was built as a memorial to an 11th century AD king…Rani ki vav was built in the complex Maru-Gurjara architectural style with an inverted temple and seven levels of stairs and holds more than 500 principle (sic) sculptures.”

Rani ni vavRani ni vav2

Beautifully preserved, thanks to the Archaeological Survey of India, the intricate figures and sculptures are really a visual feast.

Figure1Figure2Figures1Figures2

My untutored eye could detect five of the ten avatars of Vishnu. To an knowledgeable lover of such works of art, a visit to Rani ki Vav is as much of an absolute must as a trip to Ajanta and Ellora.

Patan is famous for one more thing – the Patola saree. Since these wonderful creations are way beyond my means, I shall not think about them, except to add that a trip to the Patola Saree Museum is a good idea.

Incidentally, the slight haze in the picture is due to my unsuccessful experiments with some newly acquired filters, so blame it on me, and not on the atmosphere.

 

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers