//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The monuments of Delhi

The great historical landmarks of Delhi are being cleaned up and they look really beautiful, like the Sistine Chapel murals after their long cleaning up, like Botticelli’s Venus emerging from the sea.

I just had enough time to visit the Qutub Minar and the Mehrauli Archaeological Park. The monuments in the first area have been cleaned up, the space beautified with landscaped gardens, walkways, etc, so that it’s really a pleasure walking around, looking at the magnificent monuments, reading the informative plaques and lazing around in the wonderful surroundings.

The Mehrauli Archaeological Park was a different thing altogether. To begin with, I couldn’t find a way to get inside, even with the help of Google Maps – I’d expected a large gate, with a car park, etc, but there were no such things, or at least I didn’t find them. After wandering around for half an hour, I found a tiny little swinging gate, the kind you see in neighbourhood parks, and I squeezed in through that, and lo and behold – I was inside the Park!

The Park is invitingly sprawling and I’ll just have to go back another day for a really long wander through the place. As per Wikipedia, there are a ton of interesting places to go to in the Park.

 

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

One thought on “The monuments of Delhi

  1. I would love to travel around there 🙂

    Posted by thesmilingpilgrim | May 26, 2016, 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

