//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The caves of Ellora

Called Elapura in ancient times, the Ellora caves have Hindu, Buddhist and Jain temples built during (6th and 9th centuries) the rule of the Kalachuri, Chalukya and Rashtrakuta dynasties, as per Wikipedia.

It is fascinating to see these temples all together – the styles appear to be the same to my untutored eyes, as if the temples dedicated to different faiths were built by the same people at the same time. The Kailashnath temple is too large and too grand to be captured in my puny little camera, so that will have to wait for its picture to be taken at a later date. Also, some study and preparation about these caves is highly recommended before a visit to these masterworks.

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

