//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Shakespeare at the Arena Fonte Novo, Salvador

The Bard must have foreseen the results of the match on June 14th, otherwise why would he have written those famous lines that begin “O, what a fall was there, my countrymen?” Five to one, FIVE to ONE – it’s worth repeating the score since the likes of such a thrashing of a world champion has not happened ever before.

And the occasion was graced with possibly the goal of the World Cup 2014. Is it a bird? Is it a plane? Is it Superman? No, it’s RVP going extra-terrestrial. Watch and admire:

For a time, it looked like someone had set the clock back, and the great Dennis Bergkamp was down on the field doing what he did best:

Usain Bolt, watch out – Robben can give you the run for your money any time he wants:

Is this the death of Spanish football – the team that’s the reigning World and European champions? After this thrashing, the others in the group must be champing at the bit – Casillas made a couple of spectacular howlers; Iniesta, Xavi and Alonso are showing signs of age: Torres looks like and probably is a has-been; on the single showing on Saturday night, Diego Costa doesn’t carry much venom; Pique and Ramos haven’t returned from holiday for all the impact they had on the game. 

On this showing, Spain won’t scare Chile, who in their turn thrashed the Oz. Indeed, even the Socceroos would look forward to setting fire to the Spanish mane come June 23.

While this may sound premature (and Spain lost their opener in 2010, and went on to become champions), the scale of the disaster leads me to believe that the reign of Spain has ended in the rain in Salvador.

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Shakespeare at the Arena Fonte Novo, Salvador

  1. Happened to glance at your blog through the link in the email. I did not know that you are a translator for a book, and though I must admit I never heard of Chander Pahar (movie or book), I am sure you must have done a fabulous job. I have a blog too, which I set up recently. I see that you love football; I write about Formula 1.
    I will really appreciate it if you check it out: http://www.myf1race.blogspot.com

    Fahama Sawant
    (who you teach IMC at XIMR)

    Posted by Fahama Sawant | September 28, 2014, 4:25 pm
    • Many thanks for your comment Fahama. I hope you read through the blog posts, and I hope they enthuse you to buy the book :)) and if you do, I hope you enjoy reading the book as well.

      Your F1 blog just has one entry – so I guess you started this blog very recently. Actually, you can make this into a very rich blog – there’s so much history in single seater motor racing – going back to the turn of the 20th century, the great drivers in history, the coming of the monocoque, and the mid engined cars, Grand Prix racing, the creation of the World Championship in 1950, tons and tons of anecdotes…can be really wonderful blog. Of course, it entirely depends on the scope and scale you’ve defined for yourself, and that’s totally your call.

      Anyway, enjoy writing your posts. Will check them out from time to time just to enjoy myself. Take care and have fun.
      Jayanta

      Posted by thecrestedjay | October 4, 2014, 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

