//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Masterclass and a fervent plea

In one of my recent posts – “Exeunt, Pursued by a Bear” – I had urged our beloved PM and even more beloved SRT to exit the stage soon, real soon.

They should take a lesson from the way Rahul Dravid did it. No fuss, no tamasha; just the littlest bit of fanfare that is appropriate for a man, not just a cricketer, of his stature. Dignity personified to the very end. Truly had Shakespeare written about him:

His life was gentle, and the elements
So mix’d in him that Nature might stand up
And say to all the world ‘This was a man!’

Much has been written and will be written about Rahul, from far more accomplished pens than mine. I am just going to lead you to two of the most insightful and heartfelt tributes to him – here and here.

I will end by urging Rahul to fight the temptation of becoming a TV commentator. My views on cricket commentators are not very complimentary, and I have even written a blog post about it. Rahul has been one of greatest of the greats, and a beacon of excellence during his sixteen years at the crease. I would hate to see him morph into a mind-numbing bore for thirty years or more, as have so many players from the past.

Rahul has been dignity personified to the very end, I’ve said. Please please please let him keep it thataway. Have fun, Rahul, and all the best to you for your new career.

About thecrestedjay

I am passionate about football, jazz, classic rock, classic movies, crime, science fiction and P G Wodehouse. And also about NBA, western and Indian classical music. Since the wife will also read this blog, I cannot reveal my other passions in public. Have one son who plays the guitar, spent some time as an animator and now works for a digital marketing and advertising company. I also have one (1) wife. I spent a lot of my time on my music and books collection. I also have a passion for travelling but not a great deal of time and money to spend on this. Hopefully, in the future, I'll be able to do so.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

